The Progeny of Satan are Nine

Posted on October 16, 2014


Umar Ibn al-Khattab (RA) said,
“The progeny of Satan are nine.
Zaltun, Wathin, Laqus, A`wan, Haffaf, Murra, al-Musawwit, Dasim and Walhan.

Zaltun commands the markets and he unfurls his banner therein;

Wathan commands catastrophes;

A`wan commands rulers;

Haffaf commands intoxicants;

Murra commands licentious music;

Laqus commands the Magians;

Al-Musawwit commands [false] news which he puts in the mouths of people while they know not its origin;

Dasim commands houses; if a man were to enter his house without greeting his wife and family with salam and mentioning the name of Allah the Exalted,
Dasim will cause a dispute between husband and wife such that it leads to divorce, separation, or violence;

as for Walhan, he whispers in people’s ears during ablution, prayer, and other acts of worship.”

[Preparing For The Day Of Judgement pg.37 Ibn Hajar Al-‘Asqalani]