Three Laughs and Three Tears

Posted on June 8, 2014

1


It is reported form Abû Al-Dardâ – Allâh be pleased with him – that he said,

“Three make me laugh, and three make me cry.

Those that make me laugh are
* a person who puts his hopes in this worldly life while death pursues him,
* a person who is heedless [of his Lord] while [his Lord] is not heedless of him, and* a person who always laughs while he does not know whether he has pleased Allâh or angered Him.

What makes me cry is
* being separated from my beloved: Muhammad and his party (the Companions),
* the horrors of the time of death, and standing in front of Allâh ‘azza wa jal on the Day when the secrets will be revealed and
* I do not know will I then go to Paradise or Hell?”

[Ibn Al-Mubârak, Al-Zuhd wa Al-Raqâ`iq, article 250]

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Laugh, Tear, Virtues, Wisdom