Four Levels of Forbidding Evil

Posted on May 10, 2014


Shaykh Al-Islam Ibn Al-Qayyim Al-Jawziyyah رحمه الله:

“Forbidding evil has four levels:

The First:
That the evil is removed and the opposite (good) takes its place!

The Second:
The evil is lessened but is not removed completely!

The Third:
The evil is replaced with what is similar or equal to it!

The Fourth:
The evil is replaced with something worse than it!”

The first two levels are legislated (permitted),
the third is an area of Ijtihaad and
the fourth is prohibited.

(I’laam al Muwaqi’een volume 3, pg.4)